Corn Griddlecakes – Publix Aprons

I was in Publix last week and they were making salmon and corn griddlecakes. Of course, I grabbed a plate and began to eat like a starved lunatic. Because I feel guilty about EVERYTHING,  I decided I’d better buy something. The salmon with creamy chili sauce looked too expensive, so I opted for the corncakes. Easy and inexpensive – could it get any better?

Ingredients:

1 8.5 box of corn muffin mix

1/2 cup buttermilk, (or milk)

1 large egg

2/3 cup Deli roasted corn and poblano salad

4 tablespoons canola oil, divided

 

Empty the corn mix in a bowl, and add the milk and egg. I used regular 2% milk and it worked fine. Blend everything together.



corn mix

 

 

Next, fold in the roasted corn and poblano salad. This stuff is GOOD. If you don’t have a Publix near you, check the veggie aisle. They probably have a can of Fiesta Corn or something similar.

Corn salad

Let the mixture sit for 10 minutes for the flavors to blend. Then preheat a skillet or griddle, (this is where you use the oil, so the griddlecakes won’t stick) and scoop 1/4 cup of batter into pan. Cook for 2-3 minutes each side, remove, and finish the rest of the batter.

corncakes

 

The first corncakes were way too big.  I said to heck with the 1/4 scoop and just used a big spoon.

corn griddlecakes

MUCH better. After a couple of minutes each side, we were done.

finished griddle_corn cakes

These were really good, and  a nice change from our usual side items of beans, beans, or beans.

Moron Test Grade – A! They were easy, required few ingredients, and everything was mixed in one bowl. I highly recommend. 🙂

Leave a comment